Oric and CP/M

If you want to ask questions about how the machine works, peculiar details, the differences between models, here it is !
How to program the oric hardware (VIA, FDC, ...) is also welcome.
Bodhi
Officer Cadet
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2023 2:46 pm
Location: Near cologne, Germany

Oric and CP/M

Post by Bodhi »

I've read that there was also a Z80-card for the Atmos and Telestrat for sale. Is that true and has maybe someone used such a combination?
Bodhi
Officer Cadet
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2023 2:46 pm
Location: Near cologne, Germany

Re: Oric and CP/M

Post by Bodhi »

Just spoke about it and then saw a little video by a good friend of us all: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KR0lIK3hHI8 :)
Last edited by Bodhi on Thu Jan 12, 2023 12:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
HigashiJun
Flying Officer
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 9:29 am
Location: Tokyo (Japan)

Re: Oric and CP/M

Post by HigashiJun »

Cool !
HigashiJun
User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 4444
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Oric and CP/M

Post by Dbug »

I wonder how the Z80 emulation is implemented :)
christian
Pilot Officer
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 9:58 pm

Re: Oric and CP/M

Post by christian »

Maybe with Dann McCreary: 8080 Simulation: https://www.pagetable.com/?p=824
It is intended to simulate an 8080 on the Kim-1, I did a port for the Oric some time ago
User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 3014
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Oric and CP/M

Post by Chema »

That is really cool!!! Is there a demo or something we can try on a real Oric?
User avatar
iss
Wing Commander
Posts: 1641
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Oric and CP/M [by raxiss]

Post by iss »

@all: I'm really surprised by this interest to CP/M for Oric! :D

Attached are ready to run DSK file and some sources.
Below are some details about the whole this adventure...

My Oric port is based on the excellent work of:

Code: Select all

; ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
; APPLE-80 - an 8080 simulator-debug package Copyright (c) 1979 by Dann Mccreary
; SIM8800  - Altair 8800 simulator by Charles Mangin, 2019
; ORIC8080 - Altair 8800 simulator for Oric by iss@raxiss
; ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The 8080 simulator can be found in 'simo8080.s' - it's cleaned, optimized, some fixes and ported to be used on Oric. Additional porting of parts of Apple][ ROM were required ('romo8080.s'). See 'build.log' file for brief compilation overview - it's bit complex and requires some proprietary tools (the reason to not share the build system on github yet :? ).

To run the DSK file you need:
- lot of patience - it's very slow (pressing 'F6' may give you some boost);
- emulator Oricutron (real hardware is not supported) with serial emulation in 'modem' mode - change 'oricutron.cfg':

Code: Select all

serial = 'modem'
serial_address = $31c
- your computer need to be connected to internet because CP/M disk are served from our new site raxiss.com (it's empty for now but I hope we will start it this year :)... )

When DSK is booted you'll get the prompt A:>
Screenshot_20230112_204955.jpg
Now you can change drives with pre-mounted images (typing 'X: ENTER') as follow:

Code: Select all

A:        is "cpm2.dsk"
B:        is "app.dsk"
C:        is "mpm.dsk"
D:        is "tp1.dsk" (Turbo Pascal 1.0 for CP/M-80)
E:        is "tp3.dsk" (Turbo Pascal 3.0 for CP/M-80) 
... and use 'LS' or 'DIR' to show current drive/directory content.

Of course you can also try to execute any CP/M command or program ... :wink:
Attachments
oric8080.dsk.zip
(31.13 KiB) Downloaded 48 times
oric8080-src.zip
(17.6 KiB) Downloaded 46 times
User avatar
xahmol
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 437
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2020 7:32 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Oric and CP/M

Post by xahmol »

Haha, cool!
But as I have also three Commodore 128 machine (flat, D and DCR models) that all have an actual Z80 processor (next to the 8502 CPU, which is as the Oric CPU 6502 based) and came with Cp/M disks,
I guess I stick with those if I have any CP/M urge….

Image
User avatar
rampa
1st Star Corporal
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2023 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Oric and CP/M

Post by rampa »

How much time to get the prompt? :-)

(waiting 5 minutes on oricutron boosted... :-)
User avatar
iss
Wing Commander
Posts: 1641
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Oric and CP/M

Post by iss »

rampa wrote: Thu Jan 12, 2023 8:49 pm How much time to get the prompt? :-)
About 30 seconds with F6.
Press F1, 'Hardware options' to check if serial+modem emulation is properly set:
Attachments
Screenshot_20230112_215312.jpg
User avatar
rampa
1st Star Corporal
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2023 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Oric and CP/M

Post by rampa »

ops... no, not set... i setted it on the cfg, but seems mac M1 doesnt like this.... always none and it crash if i try to change.

What it expects? an ACIA like the telestrat? may be i can fake one on the FPGA core and try to lever the 6502 to 50Mhz... :-)
User avatar
iss
Wing Commander
Posts: 1641
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Oric and CP/M

Post by iss »

rampa wrote: Thu Jan 12, 2023 9:09 pm What it expects? an ACIA like the telestrat?
Yes, an ACIA @ $31C but also virtual modem and internet sockets ... not easy for MiSTer.
User avatar
rampa
1st Star Corporal
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2023 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Oric and CP/M

Post by rampa »

iss wrote: Thu Jan 12, 2023 9:29 pm
rampa wrote: Thu Jan 12, 2023 9:09 pm What it expects? an ACIA like the telestrat?
Yes, an ACIA @ $31C but also virtual modem and internet sockets ... not easy for MiSTer.
I have it on mister MiSTer (you can set the uart as midi, modem, etc...) dont have it on the atmos core. have it on telestrat, but dont know how to test this....
User avatar
rampa
1st Star Corporal
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2023 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Oric and CP/M

Post by rampa »

rampa wrote: Thu Jan 12, 2023 9:09 pm ops... no, not set... i setted it on the cfg, but seems mac M1 doesnt like this.... always none and it crash if i try to change.
Fixed.... makefile didnt define -DBACKEND_MODEM
Post Reply