CLOAD-ing recursively

Everything related to BASIC version 1.x (Oric 1 and Atmos) or HYPERBASIC (Telestrat).
Don't hesitate to give your small program samples, technical insights, or questions...
User avatar
iss
Wing Commander
Posts: 1448
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

CLOAD-ing recursively

Post by iss »

Hi all!

This is bit odd and I'm not sure if it will be of any practical usage but because it's fun I decided to share.
So, recently I'm working on a new device for sending TAPs to Oric with high speed protocols and lot of extras (more detail will come soon) and for test purposes (and because no monitor is attached) I'm using simple program which after loaded makes a sound and calls CLOAD again. It works but I was puzzled when the transfer always failed after N successful runs...

The million-dollar question is: Can you guess the number N i.e after how many nested CLOADs the CPU stack is overflowed ? :?

You can write your own simple program or use the attached one - it has an surprise at the end :).
Usage: unzip the attached TAP file, start Oricutron in Atmos mode, type CLOAD"", F1 to pop-up the menu and "Insert tape..."
I hope you like this programmer joke.

EDIT: attachment fixed.
Attachments
bsod.tap.zip
(854 Bytes) Downloaded 155 times
Last edited by iss on Thu Nov 19, 2020 9:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 4040
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: CLOAD-ing recursively

Post by Dbug »

I guess that does not work with Oricutron 1.2 of the OSDK (All I get is Searching .. and "01" in Green on the right)
User avatar
peacer
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 438
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 9:23 pm
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: CLOAD-ing recursively

Post by peacer »

"Restar" :)
User avatar
jbperin
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2019 11:00 am
Location: Valence, France

Re: CLOAD-ing recursively

Post by jbperin »

When we reinsert the tap, it increments the counter
User avatar
iss
Wing Commander
Posts: 1448
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: CLOAD-ing recursively

Post by iss »

peacer wrote: Thu Nov 19, 2020 9:03 pm "Restar" :)
Typo fixed. Thanks :)
Dbug wrote: Thu Nov 19, 2020 8:53 pm I guess that does not work with Oricutron 1.2 of the OSDK (All I get is Searching .. and "01" in Green on the right)
May it will run if you copy the tap file to the 'tapes' sub-folder and 'Insert...' it from there. <-- this didn't worked and it's strange why ver 1.2 can't reload a TAP file.
User avatar
Symoon
Archivist
Posts: 2121
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 12:44 am
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: CLOAD-ing recursively

Post by Symoon »

Tested on a real machine while the PC was looping the WAV file :lol:
I think enough time has passed, no more spoiling... The answer is 92 loads!

(and I like how the "press any key to continues" on the BSOD does... Nothing ;) )
Post Reply