Fixing Oric Nova64

If you want to ask questions about how the machine works, peculiar details, the differences between models, here it is !
How to program the oric hardware (VIA, FDC, ...) is also welcome.
Post Reply
User avatar
iss
Wing Commander
Posts: 1063
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Fixing Oric Nova64

Post by iss »

This is replay to @Dbug's post in Oriclopedia: A series of videos on all things Oric about Oric Nova64 machines.
Dbug wrote:
Sat Jan 11, 2020 3:40 pm
Regarding the machines... what I can tell you is that the motherboard uses 2 memory chips (tms4464-15nl) instead of the usual 8, and nowhere is written "Designed by Tangerine Computer Systems Ltd" (but there is a "ORIC 1".
My Oric Nova64 is exactly the same!
Dbug wrote:
Sat Jan 11, 2020 3:40 pm
One of the machines is missing the ULA and the ROM, one does boot and start, you can type, you can hear the sound of the clickety, can zap,explode, etc... but the display is garbled, like if the ULA was not decoding the right locations for the display.
And the problem was exactly the same! Key clicks, zap, ping etc. are working, even text/hires works but no real characters were on screen - only b/w rows here and there. I was ready to change RAM chips but luckily I tried first with other ULA (because it's on socket already) ... and voila everything works!
20200529_210239.jpg
20200529_210239.jpg (560.86 KiB) Viewed 167 times
20200529_210305.jpg
20200529_210305.jpg (635.74 KiB) Viewed 167 times
This is the faulty ULA:
20200529_210445.jpg
20200529_210445.jpg (77.19 KiB) Viewed 167 times

User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 3336
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Fixing Oric Nova64

Post by Dbug »

I did try to change the ULA, that did not fix the problem, that being said it was an ULA I had lying around, I did not try any of the ones I received since.

Post Reply