looking for a pixel flood fill routine

Here you can ask questions or provide insights about how to use efficiently 6502 assembly code on the Oric.
goyo
Officer Cadet

looking for a pixel flood fill routine

Post by goyo »

Hello,

I am looking for a assembly source routine of pixel flood fill but i only have the Petyr Miladinow Pawlow routine in Basic.

would anyone have a floodfill assembler routine to give me ? :D
Dbug
Site Admin

Re: looking for a pixel flood fill routine

Post by Dbug »

I wonder if the one in "Le Retour du Dr Genius" would be easy to extract, I remember it to have been relatively fast.
Symoon
Archivist

Post by Symoon »

This is an interesting subject.
I'm a noob regarding the subject but I wonder: do fill algorithms on Oric take advantage of what I would call "byte structure" of the Hires screen? I mean, if a byte equals $64, it can be completely filled without checking neighborhood (might not be as simple as that with attributes and value of starting byte, but that's the idea: if the 6 visible pixels have the same value, they can be analysed as a whole)
goyo
Officer Cadet

Post by goyo »

Symoon wrote: Thu Sep 02, 2021 9:49 am This is an interesting subject.
I'm a noob regarding the subject but I wonder: do fill algorithms on Oric take advantage of what I would call "byte structure" of the Hires screen? I mean, if a byte equals $64, it can be completely filled without checking neighborhood (might not be as simple as that with attributes and value of starting byte, but that's the idea: if the 6 visible pixels have the same value, they can be analysed as a whole)
Yes i'ts seems so easy to manage a single line, but the dificulty is to manage the stack and limits his size, how to have a fixed size of the stack.

for help there is a nice wikipedia page : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flood_fill and Walk-based filling (Fixed-memory method)

but i'm not very good in English...
Dbug
Site Admin

Post by Dbug »