Cumana Reborn DSK support

This is the best place to discuss about the various Oric operating systems like Sedoric, Randos, FT-Dos, and others, as well as serious software, utilities, word processors, disassemblers, etc... that runs on oric computers.
User avatar
Bieno
2nd Star Corporal
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 11:36 am
Contact:

Re: Cumana Reborn DSK support

Post by Bieno »

Steve M wrote:
Mon Apr 26, 2021 10:12 pm
It looks under-powered to me, but I'm no expert.
I tried too with 3 different power supplies with the same bad result.

User avatar
Steve M
Squad Leader
Posts: 687
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 3:33 am
Location: Cumbria, UK
Contact:

Re: Cumana Reborn DSK support

Post by Steve M »

What amps were you power supplies?

User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 3663
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Cumana Reborn DSK support

Post by Dbug »

I tried with both the spanish one that does DC9V at 2A and the original Oric Atmos brick

User avatar
Bieno
2nd Star Corporal
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 11:36 am
Contact:

Re: Cumana Reborn DSK support

Post by Bieno »

I've done the same, with the original one and with this: https://www.micomputer.es/en/oric/149-o ... upply.html

Image

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2788
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Cumana Reborn DSK support

Post by Chema »

With 2A there should be no problem, imho. Dbug, does the Oric which does not like the Cumana work with Cumulus? I still think the bus signal problems (mainly MAP, which is precisely what is usually adjusted with a potentiometer) are to blame.

iss wrote he found a solution by pure chance, but I am not sure if that is something applicable to every oric or just his new interface...

User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 3663
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Cumana Reborn DSK support

Post by Dbug »

This Oric works perfectly with my Cumulus as well as Microdisc + Gotek combo :)
And also with the RS232 and SPO256 Speech Synthesizer.

User avatar
xahmol
Flying Officer
Posts: 210
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2020 7:32 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cumana Reborn DSK support

Post by xahmol »

Bieno wrote:
Thu Apr 29, 2021 11:02 am
I've done the same, with the original one and with this: https://www.micomputer.es/en/oric/149-o ... upply.html
This is exactly the one I am using that works with my Cumana Reborn here. So we can rule that out as a cause indeed it seems.

User avatar
Steve M
Squad Leader
Posts: 687
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 3:33 am
Location: Cumbria, UK
Contact:

Re: Cumana Reborn DSK support

Post by Steve M »

Hmm, I'm a bit baffled then. The real Cumana will work with most things - even Orics that struggle to boot on their own. I think they use more powerful power supplies but they power the Oric as well.
Over to Piotr.

User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 3663
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Cumana Reborn DSK support

Post by Dbug »

Imo, if that was a power problem, that would have impacted all the floppies.
One thing I did not try is to use another USB stick.

User avatar
Bieno
2nd Star Corporal
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 11:36 am
Contact:

Re: Cumana Reborn DSK support

Post by Bieno »

Dbug wrote:
Mon May 03, 2021 7:41 am
Imo, if that was a power problem, that would have impacted all the floppies.
One thing I did not try is to use another USB stick.
I've tryed it with 2 more USB sticks, formatted the same way as the original that came with the unit

Post Reply