MYMPlayer in CC65

Since we do not have native C compilers on the Oric, this forum will be mostly be used by people using CC65 or the OSDK. But any general C related post will be welcome !
xahmol
Flight Lieutenant

MYMPlayer in CC65

Post by xahmol »

TL;DR:
Has anyone gotten MYMPlayer to work with CC65 and has sample code how to do so?

For start: sorry for the maybe n00b questions, I am a real beginner in C and certainly in dynamic memory allocation.

What I did so far:
- changed the MYMPlayer.s source to remove the fixed base address of the machine code and replace it with _startmusic and _endmusic externals and made a MYMPlayerlib.h file declaring functions for those externals.
- converted the MYMPlayer.s to a format that CC65 can use with xa -v -cc -R followed by co65 as explained in this thread ( https://forum.defence-force.org/viewtop ... f=3&t=1729 ).
- load the music data with the loadfile C code for Sedoric as made by ISS.
- start the music with the defined startmusic() function

This appears to work, but erratically. It appears the C runtime does not leave the player data alone in the memory area from $7600 and therefore changes the music data so the music becomes corrupted.
Code and variables in the compiler mapping is coming nowhere close to $7600, so guess it is the C runtime screwing up this memory area?

For my own routines for Windows and savegames I had the same issue storing these to a fixed memory location. This worked perfectly in my BASIC version of the program, but in C the data was getting corrupted. So changed to store the data at dynamically allocated locations using malloc().