Hooking up a Oric to a Commodore RGB monitor in Canada

In this forum you can write about anything that does not fit in other forums.
This includes generic Oric talkings and things that are totaly unrelated but want to share with people here :)
Post Reply
lextorite
1st Star Corporal
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 4:30 pm

Hooking up a Oric to a Commodore RGB monitor in Canada

Post by lextorite »

I recently purchased a commodore monitor that has a RGB socket and I was wondering if a Oric-1 will work with it.

mmu_man
Flying Officer
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 7:45 pm
Location: 26000 Valence, FRANCE
Contact:

Post by mmu_man »

You might have to check if the output levels from the ORIC are compatible with the inputs on the monitor, I think there is another thread around (in the hardware section, where this one should go too).
If all is ok it's just a matter of making a cable.
Pinouts of interest:
http://www.hardwarebook.info/Commodore_1084d/1084dS
http://www.hardwarebook.info/C64_Audio/Video
http://www.hardwarebook.info/C128/C64C_Video
http://www.hardwarebook.info/Commodore_ ... 8Analog%29
http://www.hardwarebook.info/Commodore_ ... Digital%29

User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 3377
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Hooking up a Oric to a Commodore RGB monitor in Canada

Post by Dbug »

lextorite wrote:I recently purchased a commodore monitor that has a RGB socket and I was wondering if a Oric-1 will work with it.
Giving us the monitor model would help a lot :)

If its a 1081, 1083, 1084 (normal or "S" variants), you have to know that the answer is yes.

Actually it's a vibrant yes, because you will probably see for the first time a rich, clear, stable, oric picture :)

All you have to do is to find the pinnout, and connect pin to pin the red, green, blue, sync, and ground from the RVB socket.

These monitors tend to also have TTL/Green buttons, so don't hesitate to play with that if the picture is distorted.

lextorite
1st Star Corporal
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 4:30 pm

Post by lextorite »

It's a 1902A with two different RGB inputs and also has a video/audio in too.

lextorite
1st Star Corporal
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 4:30 pm

Post by lextorite »

After doing some research : The pins on the Commodore 1902A monitor are as follows-
1-Not connected
2-Red
3-Green
4-Blue
5-Intensity
6-Ground
7-Horizontal Sync
8-Vertical Sync

And the Oric-1 pins are
1-Red
2-Green
3-Blue
4-Sync
5-Ground

The RGB and Ground pins, I understand but what about the Oric-1 Sync pin? Where would I solder that one to?

User avatar
Silicebit.
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 287
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 10:18 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain
Contact:

Post by Silicebit. »

For sync you must use the Horizontal Sync pin.

Best regards.

mmu_man
Flying Officer
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 7:45 pm
Location: 26000 Valence, FRANCE
Contact:

Post by mmu_man »

That's assuming it grocks the composite sync.

User avatar
Silicebit.
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 287
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 10:18 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain
Contact:

Post by Silicebit. »

I agree.

I have my Atmos connected to Commodore 1084S and the 1902A no look different. in the 1084S the Horizontal Sync pin is valid for composite sync too.

User avatar
carlsson
Pilot Officer
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:26 pm
Location: Västerås, Sweden

Post by carlsson »

The latter seems to depend on which model of the 1084 you have. The one with two DIN inputs has one for TTL level inputs, and the other for analogue RGB. Those 1084's with either a SCART and/or a DB9 instead may be slightly different even internally.
Anders Carlsson

highwayman
Flying Officer
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 8:08 pm

Post by highwayman »

the one with a 9way d is totally different in every way to the one with din plugs & maybe a scart.
(space on the board for a scart but i'v never seen one fitted)

if anybody gets a 1084 then go for the one with the 9way d on it - it's way superior to the others.
it was also badged by philips as the cm8833 mk2 i think.
8)

i have one to test my arcade boards :D

User avatar
carlsson
Pilot Officer
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:26 pm
Location: Västerås, Sweden

Post by carlsson »

Currently I have one mono 1084 RCA/DIN/SCART and one stereo 1084S RCA/DB9. The SCART input seems to be flawed, the picture is rolling while the composite video is steady. On the 1084S, the composite video is flawed but the analog RGB works fine. Some of those days I might be able to diagnose which faults these two have and fix at least one or both.
Anders Carlsson

Post Reply