My new Cumana drive ;)

This is the right place to discuss on how to implement hardware vsync, adding a VIA or AY chipset, puting multiple roms, or how to design a new flash expansion card.
User avatar
kenneth
Flying Officer
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 9:11 pm
Location: France PdD
Contact:

Re: My new Cumana drive ;)

Post by kenneth » Fri Jan 24, 2020 6:01 pm

Zaxon is cheating, he uses a time machine to find his beautiful design. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

zaxon
Officer Cadet
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 9:51 am

Re: My new Cumana drive ;)

Post by zaxon » Fri Jan 24, 2020 7:53 pm

Nooo, i use my time machine for special offers "buy today we can deliver yesterday until 9.00 AM " ;) Some of my customers push me for service like this..... :D

Anyway, weekend, so i finish assembly first 5, test it, pack , and assembly next 5 boards. Panels is ready,(is 5 hours printing for front and back) rest of components arrived today so i finish sending it until 1 february i hope.

zaxon
Officer Cadet
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 9:51 am

Re: My new Cumana drive ;)

Post by zaxon » Sun Jan 26, 2020 3:55 pm

Gang of Cumana, ready to go ;)
Attachments
20200126_155412.jpg
20200126_155412.jpg (2.14 MiB) Viewed 608 times

User avatar
HigashiJun
Officer Cadet
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 9:29 am
Location: Tokyo (Japan)

Re: My new Cumana drive ;)

Post by HigashiJun » Sun Jan 26, 2020 3:57 pm

FANTASTIC !
HigashiJun

User avatar
HigashiJun
Officer Cadet
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 9:29 am
Location: Tokyo (Japan)

Re: My new Cumana drive ;)

Post by HigashiJun » Mon Jan 27, 2020 5:01 am

Just a question:

I have a 7.5V PSU for my Oric and it works pretty well, keeping everything cooler than ever.

Do you think it will be alright if I add the Cumana Reborn or would I have to change my actual PSU to a 9V one ?

:?:
HigashiJun

zaxon
Officer Cadet
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 9:51 am

Re: My new Cumana drive ;)

Post by zaxon » Tue Jan 28, 2020 4:07 pm

I think so. Depend of amper . My interface take approx 0,5 A when is powered by 9 volt , so if is powered from 7,5 take more...Oric take approx 1 amp so power supply must be 2,5 A or more with safety margin.

zaxon
Officer Cadet
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 9:51 am

Re: My new Cumana drive ;)

Post by zaxon » Tue Jan 28, 2020 6:13 pm

Ok, 5 on the way, next 5 almost assembled so i relist next 10 units here. Have fun. https://www.sellmyretro.com/offer/details/40497

User avatar
HigashiJun
Officer Cadet
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 9:29 am
Location: Tokyo (Japan)

Re: My new Cumana drive ;)

Post by HigashiJun » Wed Jan 29, 2020 5:05 am

zaxon wrote:
Tue Jan 28, 2020 4:07 pm
I think so. Depend of amper . My interface take approx 0,5 A when is powered by 9 volt , so if is powered from 7,5 take more...Oric take approx 1 amp so power supply must be 2,5 A or more with safety margin.
Thanks for your reply. I have to check then, as my PSU is 7.5V 2A.

Might be too short...
HigashiJun

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2553
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: My new Cumana drive ;)

Post by Chema » Wed Jan 29, 2020 8:57 am

The oric's original PSU is 9v/600mA, so 2 A may *just* do it.

User avatar
HigashiJun
Officer Cadet
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 9:29 am
Location: Tokyo (Japan)

Re: My new Cumana drive ;)

Post by HigashiJun » Wed Jan 29, 2020 9:46 am

Chema wrote:
Wed Jan 29, 2020 8:57 am
The oric's original PSU is 9v/600mA, so 2 A may *just* do it.
Thanks, I will definitely check it.

I have nothing else to connect to my Atmos, apart from the powered SCART lead.

Cheers.
HigashiJun

User avatar
Symoon
Archivist
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 12:44 am
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: My new Cumana drive ;)

Post by Symoon » Wed Jan 29, 2020 11:27 pm

zaxon wrote:
Tue Jan 28, 2020 6:13 pm
Ok, 5 on the way, next 5 almost assembled so i relist next 10 units here. Have fun. https://www.sellmyretro.com/offer/details/40497
In for one, done :mrgreen:

User avatar
HigashiJun
Officer Cadet
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 9:29 am
Location: Tokyo (Japan)

Re: My new Cumana drive ;)

Post by HigashiJun » Sat Feb 08, 2020 6:02 am

Hello zaxon,

I've just received my Cumana reborn.

It's a really nice piece of hardware you made. Everything looks so professional and well designed...

I'd like to thank you specially for the well packaged packet; everything arrived not damaged at all despite the distance.

Keep up your good work !

:D
HigashiJun

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2553
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: My new Cumana drive ;)

Post by Chema » Sat Feb 08, 2020 10:25 am

As a side note, if someone could please check that Blake's7 works fine (loading and saving, remember to check the disk image is writable), I'd be enormously grateful.

User avatar
HigashiJun
Officer Cadet
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 9:29 am
Location: Tokyo (Japan)

Re: My new Cumana drive ;)

Post by HigashiJun » Sat Feb 08, 2020 1:53 pm

Chema wrote:
Sat Feb 08, 2020 10:25 am
As a side note, if someone could please check that Blake's7 works fine (loading and saving, remember to check the disk image is writable), I'd be enormously grateful.
Your game is one of my favorites and is waiting to be tested on the Cumana reborn, but my Atmos is under maintenance by now. If everything comes together (and if my work doesn't keep me busy...), I should be able to test it around mid-march.

I guess other forum members will test it before and let you know.

Cheers.
HigashiJun

zaxon
Officer Cadet
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 9:51 am

Re: My new Cumana drive ;)

Post by zaxon » Tue Feb 11, 2020 9:02 pm

Next 6 ready to go tomorrow, sorry about delay but is really lot of work to assembly every one.
Attachments
20200211_194434[1].jpg
20200211_194434[1].jpg (2.62 MiB) Viewed 293 times

Post Reply