Oric Atmos PSU Specs

This is the right place to discuss on how to implement hardware vsync, adding a VIA or AY chipset, puting multiple roms, or how to design a new flash expansion card.
StarshipUK
2nd Star Corporal
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 8:31 pm

Oric Atmos PSU Specs

Post by StarshipUK » Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:42 pm

Please can someone let me know the specs of a Oric Atmos PSU, as I need to buy a replacement and I do not have the one I was using anymore.

I sent my Oric Atmos to someone to do a modification and he sent me back the Oric Atmos unmodified and missing the power supply and does not seem likely I will get it back.

From what I have read here the PSU (when used with Cumulus) needs to be a least 1.2A and 9V. Does anyone know the connector tip size (I am guessing it is 5.5mm x 2.1mm) and the Polarity of the plug please?

User avatar
iss
Squad Leader
Posts: 870
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Oric Atmos PSU Specs

Post by iss » Sat Aug 13, 2016 10:22 pm

On Muso's Oric Site you can find some pictures of Oric PSU's. On the labels are the specs: Output DC 9V, 5.4 VA (or ~600mA).
This is the standard Oric PSU, but it's really recommended to use PSU with 1.0-1.2A output when using Cumulus (or other periphery powered trough the expansion port).
Connector is 5.5mm x 2.5mm, but larger one can be used too important is the internal diameter.
Polarity is '+' inside, '-' outside.
Last edited by iss on Mon Aug 15, 2016 2:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
polluks
Pilot Officer
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 10:09 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Oric Atmos PSU Specs

Post by polluks » Mon Aug 15, 2016 2:03 pm

Our wiki says 2.5 mm :?:
cc65 development
Oric Atmos + Cumulus
Acorn Electron

User avatar
iss
Squad Leader
Posts: 870
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Oric Atmos PSU Specs

Post by iss » Mon Aug 15, 2016 2:25 pm

@polluks: Thanks for correction!

Yes, the jack is 2.5mm. According to Oric service manual it's: SK3 - Jack Socket 2.5mm.

User avatar
fandenivoldsk
2nd Star Corporal
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 10:13 am

Re: Oric Atmos PSU Specs

Post by fandenivoldsk » Wed May 10, 2017 2:35 pm

Can someone here help me? I have not used my Oric Atmos for a few years now, and yesterday when I wanted to use it again, the power supply was missing. Anyone who can sell me a spare one? I want to use it with my Cumulus unit, so I guess from reading the above, that I should use one with a 1.0-1.2A output. Also, I want to use it with the RGB (Powered) Scart cable from Retro Computer Shack - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Oric-1-amp-At ... 1137727260 – I do not know if this matters to power supply I seek?

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2466
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Oric Atmos PSU Specs

Post by Chema » Wed May 10, 2017 3:13 pm

This one is good quality and 2A so it should suit the needs https://www.micomputer.es/en/oric/149-o ... upply.html

It's not expensive either.

User avatar
fandenivoldsk
2nd Star Corporal
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 10:13 am

Re: Oric Atmos PSU Specs

Post by fandenivoldsk » Wed May 10, 2017 4:41 pm

Ok, I will give it a try!

User avatar
iss
Squad Leader
Posts: 870
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Oric Atmos PSU Specs

Post by iss » Thu May 11, 2017 6:06 pm

This is small add-on to PSU which I bought recently and IMO is very handy!
There are variants :) for Oric-1:
20170510_190852.jpg
... and for Atmos:
20170510_191028.jpg
Actually it's nothing special - just a simple switch but because of laziness I never built it until I found it for $1.10 - of course from china :).

User avatar
fandenivoldsk
2nd Star Corporal
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 10:13 am

Re: Oric Atmos PSU Specs

Post by fandenivoldsk » Sat May 13, 2017 2:14 pm

That is a nice add-on!

User avatar
fandenivoldsk
2nd Star Corporal
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 10:13 am

Re: Oric Atmos PSU Specs

Post by fandenivoldsk » Sat May 13, 2017 2:22 pm

The link says 2.1mm, but Oric is 2.5mm... but it works ok?

User avatar
iss
Squad Leader
Posts: 870
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Oric Atmos PSU Specs

Post by iss » Sat May 13, 2017 4:11 pm

yes, it works.

MrM
2nd Star Corporal
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 1:40 am

Re: Oric Atmos PSU Specs

Post by MrM » Wed May 17, 2017 3:15 am

I run my Oric-1 and Atmos on a 7.5V (as opposed to 9V) 1A power supply. No issues at all. Right or wrong, I read some time ago that 7.5V runs cooler and that's how I've been doing it ever since.

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2466
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Oric Atmos PSU Specs

Post by Chema » Wed May 17, 2017 7:49 am

Yes, I also read that information somewhere, MrM. Nice to hear from somebody who actually uses a lower voltage.

User avatar
Steve M
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 507
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 3:33 am
Location: Cumbria, UK
Contact:

Re: Oric Atmos PSU Specs

Post by Steve M » Wed May 24, 2017 6:25 pm

Where are the switches from Iss ? Can you post a link ?

User avatar
coco.oric
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 465
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:50 am
Location: North of France
Contact:

Re: Oric Atmos PSU Specs

Post by coco.oric » Wed May 24, 2017 9:29 pm

@steve, link is on the price of his post
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/High-qu ... 59569.html

(i bought 2 of them, price is 1€/piece including postage)
coco.oric as DidierV, CEO Member
Image Image

Post Reply