Is BD-DOS lost to time?

This is the best place to discuss about the various Oric operating systems like Sedoric, Randos, FT-Dos, and others, as well as serious software, utilities, word processors, disassemblers, etc... that runs on oric computers.
ThomH
Flying Officer
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 9:55 pm

Re: Is BD-DOS lost to time?

Post by ThomH » Wed Mar 04, 2020 7:41 pm

I'm the last person who should end up in physical possession of it, ever, but I can definitely chip in towards purchasing it with/for @iss, if it's for sale. I suspect we won't get a second chance.

User avatar
Steve M
Squad Leader
Posts: 592
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 3:33 am
Location: Cumbria, UK
Contact:

Re: Is BD-DOS lost to time?

Post by Steve M » Thu Mar 05, 2020 10:06 pm

I guess it will be at some point but I'll have to get the paperwork scanned.

User avatar
iss
Wing Commander
Posts: 1029
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Is BD-DOS lost to time?

Post by iss » Sat May 16, 2020 11:12 pm

One more step further with last Oricutron support of Byte Drive 500. :)
BD-500 emulation works with Oric-1 ROM 1.0 and with the Atmos ROM 1.1b.

THIS is the current portion of code handling the I/O read operations from BD-500 hardware. Most interesting is how read from address 0x317 affects the memory size being recognized by the HELLO program:

Code: Select all

    case 0x317:
      // 64k/56k mode depend on ROM chips
      bd->diskrom = bd->oric->rom16? SDL_FALSE : SDL_TRUE;
      break;
The whole thing is based only on "astrology" by now :). I've implemented a parameter in Oricutron.cfg file:

Code: Select all

; Specifies how ROMDIS disables ROM chip(s)
; related to BD500/BDDOS
; rom16 = yes - 64k mode (Default)
; rom16 = no  - 56k mode
;rom16 = yes
The purpose is to control if reading from 0x317 turns off the external ROM.
This is the result when the parameter is changed:
64k-56k.png
64k-56k.png (40.72 KiB) Viewed 306 times
Here is the Basic source of the HELLO program:

Code: Select all

10  '--- GREETING PROGRAM ---'   
20 ON ERROR GOTO 300
30  TEXT:WINDOW:CLS:NORMAL   
40  CR$=CHR$(13):QT$=CHR$(34):AD=#97FE
100 DEFKEY$(0) = CHR$(96) '` SYMBOL .
110 DEFKEY$(1) = "LIST"+CR$    
120 DEFKEY$(2) = "RUN"+CR$ 'RUN AUTO .
130 DEFKEY$(3) = "RUN"+QT$ 'RUN "" . 
140 DEFKEY$(4) = "DIR"+CR$ 'DIR AUTO .
150 DEFKEY$(5) = "HIYA KOFFERS!" 
160 DEFKEY$(6) = "LOAD"+QT$ 'LOAD"" .
170 DEFKEY$(7) = "HIRES"+CR$ 'HIRES .
180 DEFKEY$(8) = "COLOR 4,7"+CR$'TRYIT
190 DEFKEY$(9) = "TE.:MR."+QT$+"WORDPROCESSOR"+CR$  
200 'NOW DISPLAY CREDITS AND DATE .
220 DEF FN A(Q) = (40-LEN(A$))/2
230 A$="DOS DISK CREATED FEB 20 1984"
240 PRINTTAB(FNA(1));A$
250 IF SYS(20) THEN A$="64k" ELSE A$="56k"
260 IF PEEK(AD-1)=0 THEN A$=A$+" ATMOS" ELSE A$=A$+" ORIC1"
265 HTAB 0,2:PRINTTAB(FNA(Q));A$
270 A$="VERSION "+STR$(PEEK(AD))+"."+RIGHT$(STR$(PEEK(AD+1)),LEN(STR$(PEEK(AD+1)))-1)        
280 HTAB 0,4:PRINTTAB(FNA(Q));A$   
290 CAPS:VTAB 20:END
300 IF ERR(0) = 14 THEN RESET '^C !
310 STOP 
Line 250 handles ONLY two possibilities 64k or 56k - and this really puzzles me!
If it was 64k vs. 48k - it's clear and OK, but how is possible to have 56k and not the whole 64k? What do you think? :?

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2619
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Is BD-DOS lost to time?

Post by Chema » Sun May 17, 2020 12:57 am

Could the controller be putting his own 8k ROM in the overlay area, leaving other 8k of ram for the user?

User avatar
Steve M
Squad Leader
Posts: 592
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 3:33 am
Location: Cumbria, UK
Contact:

Re: Is BD-DOS lost to time?

Post by Steve M » Fri May 22, 2020 9:44 pm

I'm not sure which version of BD DOS it is? I have documentation for DOS4 which includes BASIC v2. So I'd assume there has to be some overlay with the new Basic. I have an Oric with an expansion pack that houses a ROM chip with the Basic - I think that one is V3 BASIC.

After the initial software by Peter Halford, Dr Ray McLaughlin rewrote the DOS and Basic and there are several updates. Some of the updates didn't seem to work properly judging by the corrospondance I have, which led to further amendments.

Let me know if you want Basic V2 DOS 4 manual

User avatar
iss
Wing Commander
Posts: 1029
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Is BD-DOS lost to time?

Post by iss » Sat May 23, 2020 7:36 am

Steve M wrote:
Fri May 22, 2020 9:44 pm
I'm not sure which version of BD DOS it is?
... Let me know if you want Basic V2 DOS 4 manual
The HELLO program reports version 2.2. Any information is wanted and highly appreciated, please!
Manuals and even some pictures of the hardware are real treasure :).

User avatar
iss
Wing Commander
Posts: 1029
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Is BD-DOS lost to time?

Post by iss » Tue May 26, 2020 9:18 pm

Some additional info about the released BD-DOS versions and their full naming:

BD DOS 2.2 with BASIC ROM 1.0 - this is what we have so far.
BD DOS 3.1b with BASIC ROM ?.?
BD DOS 3.2 with BASIC ROM ?.?
BD DOS 4.0 with BASIC ROM 2.0

With every next version some bugs were fixed and commands added.
Interesting is the BASIC ROM x.x part - for the tested version 'with BASIC ROM 1.0' means exactly ORIC BASIC 1.0 :).
After boot DOS loads itself in area #6800..#9800 and loads a copy of BASIC 1.0 (i.e. the Oric-1 one) in the whole RAM Overlay.
This copy differs from the original ROM in only 12 bytes - used to redirect keyboard and print to screen routines to the DOS code (I guess). It's little strange because you have to use the buggy ROM 1.0 even if you have an Atmos, but this is obviously changed and the later versions (i.e. DOS 4.0 with BASIC ROM 2.0) are Atmos BASIC 1.1b based, I think.

Post Reply