Faulty Microdisc because of the board? Almost no problem :)

This is the right place to discuss on how to implement hardware vsync, adding a VIA or AY chipset, puting multiple roms, or how to design a new flash expansion card.
Post Reply
jorodr
Flying Officer
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 9:04 pm
Contact:

Faulty Microdisc because of the board? Almost no problem :)

Post by jorodr » Wed Sep 11, 2013 4:49 pm

Hello,

I'm proud to present the Green Edition of my controller. Because there was interests from some guys to repair faulty Microdisc I start working to make new controller. So today I have tested it - you could see at the pictures. Unfortunately I have done a big mistake - turned of the connectors to 180 degrees and must replace the ribbon cables at Microdisc too.
The controller has some new feature, but I forgot to test, will write for it tomorrow :)

Best regards,
George
Attachments
GreenEdition_3.JPG
GreenEdition_3.JPG (602.18 KiB) Viewed 12579 times
GreenEdition_2.JPG
GreenEdition_2.JPG (614.67 KiB) Viewed 12579 times
GreenEdition_1.JPG
GreenEdition_1.JPG (532.6 KiB) Viewed 12579 times

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2296
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Faulty Microdisc because of the board? Almost no problem

Post by Chema » Wed Sep 11, 2013 8:28 pm

That looks impressive!!!

Congrats for the excellent work!

User avatar
ibisum
Squad Leader
Posts: 1022
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 8:56 am

Re: Faulty Microdisc because of the board? Almost no problem

Post by ibisum » Thu Sep 12, 2013 9:11 am

Very exciting! I can't wait to hear more news about this device .. keep up the good work jorodr!

jorodr
Flying Officer
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 9:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Faulty Microdisc because of the board? Almost no problem

Post by jorodr » Thu Sep 12, 2013 9:28 am

Еxcept the dimensions the other feature is that there is 5V power jumper connector. So if you connect it you can work with Oric without need of Oric PSU - it will power via ribbon cable. It's tested and it's working.

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2296
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Faulty Microdisc because of the board? Almost no problem

Post by Chema » Thu Sep 12, 2013 2:02 pm

That is interesting... I always wondered if it could be possible to feed the Oric through the 5volt pin on the expansion port (and maybe others). If it is possible (as you've proved) then why they did not so with peripherals like the Microdisc...?

In fact it could save a lot of trouble with the regulator and stability of signals between Oric and the device... or not?

jorodr
Flying Officer
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 9:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Faulty Microdisc because of the board? Almost no problem

Post by jorodr » Thu Sep 12, 2013 3:38 pm

I was made it for Bulgarian controllers years ago. Just forgot to make it to my Blue edition Microdiscs. I have Jasmin 1, that powers the computer via ribbon cable too, so the idea is not new. Just need very quality cables.

freaktmp
2nd Star Corporal
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 5:07 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: Faulty Microdisc because of the board? Almost no problem

Post by freaktmp » Thu Sep 12, 2013 4:07 pm

Any plans for reverse engineering the jasmin controller?

jorodr
Flying Officer
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 9:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Faulty Microdisc because of the board? Almost no problem

Post by jorodr » Thu Sep 12, 2013 4:33 pm

Yes, tI already have bought WD1770. It's not far the time that I will try to do it.
Is there any documentation in the net?

User avatar
Symoon
Archivist
Posts: 1388
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 12:44 am
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: Faulty Microdisc because of the board? Almost no problem

Post by Symoon » Thu Sep 12, 2013 6:12 pm

Chema wrote:That is interesting... I always wondered if it could be possible to feed the Oric through the 5volt pin on the expansion port (and maybe others). If it is possible (as you've proved) then why they did not so with peripherals like the Microdisc...?

In fact it could save a lot of trouble with the regulator and stability of signals between Oric and the device... or not?
Well, I got a Microdisc and indeed the Oric is powered via the ribbon cable. No more PSU on the Oric.

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2296
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Faulty Microdisc because of the board? Almost no problem

Post by Chema » Thu Sep 12, 2013 6:44 pm

I was completely wrong then... I never saw a Microdisc, but I somewhat thought that there was a cable that connected to the Oric regulator.

Mystery solved (or inexistent) :)

User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 2723
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Faulty Microdisc because of the board? Almost no problem

Post by Dbug » Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:05 pm

Chema wrote:I was completely wrong then... I never saw a Microdisc, but I somewhat thought that there was a cable that connected to the Oric regulator.

Mystery solved (or inexistent) :)
Well, everybody is right and wrong :)

On some machines this works, on some it does not.
My Oric 1 accepts it, my Atmos and my Pravetz both need their own juice else they either randomly crash or fail detecting the drive.

User avatar
coco.oric
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 454
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:50 am
Location: North of France
Contact:

Re: Faulty Microdisc because of the board? Almost no problem

Post by coco.oric » Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:51 pm

On some machines this works, on some it does not
I've the same trouble on my atmos.
It's a very good idea to put power by this way.

Good job.
coco.oric as DidierV, CEO Member
Image Image

Post Reply