Interested people in controller Microdisc or AmpliBus.

This is the right place to discuss on how to implement hardware vsync, adding a VIA or AY chipset, puting multiple roms, or how to design a new flash expansion card.
User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 1910
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Interested people in controller Microdisc or AmpliBus.

Post by Chema » Thu Jun 25, 2015 7:24 pm

This is great! a couple of years back just a few lucky Oricians had disks on their machines, and now nearly all the community has one!

Thanks to the incredible work of all those enthusiasts which developed clone controllers and the cumulus device. Specially thanks to you Silicebit. This is a very nice work.

And now my next game, if I ever manage to create a next game (though I have some ideas already), will definitely run from disk.

User avatar
Hialmar
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 11:25 am
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: Interested people in controller Microdisc or AmpliBus.

Post by Hialmar » Fri Jun 26, 2015 7:43 am

All your games run from disk Chema ;)

Thanks indeed to Silicebit for his works on the controllers and amplibuses.
Hialmar
CEO and Silicium member.

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 1910
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Interested people in controller Microdisc or AmpliBus.

Post by Chema » Fri Jun 26, 2015 10:13 am

Hialmar wrote:All your games run from disk Chema ;)
Yeah :lol: I meant "will require a disk unit". Many people complained about not being able to play Space:1999 and 1337 because they require a disk unit. Anyway this was off topic completely.

User avatar
ibisum
Squad Leader
Posts: 829
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 8:56 am

Re: Interested people in controller Microdisc or AmpliBus.

Post by ibisum » Fri Jun 26, 2015 12:03 pm

I would also like to applaud all the folks who have solved the lack of drives dilemma for the Oric. I can say for sure I wouldn't have been as enthusiastic about investing time in this little platform without disks .. Audio save/load is great and all, but its far, far much nicer to have a disk subsystem to work with the Oric.

I guess the next major challenge will be networking ..

User avatar
Silicebit.
Flying Officer
Posts: 192
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 10:18 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain
Contact:

Re: Interested people in controller Microdisc or AmpliBus.

Post by Silicebit. » Wed Jul 29, 2015 8:03 am

List updated in first post. :-)
Oric user since 1984.

User avatar
Silicebit.
Flying Officer
Posts: 192
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 10:18 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain
Contact:

Re: Interested people in controller Microdisc or AmpliBus.

Post by Silicebit. » Thu Sep 10, 2015 11:19 am

List updated in first post. :-)

@freaktmp, You have a PM waiting for you. ;-)
Oric user since 1984.

User avatar
Hialmar
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 11:25 am
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: Interested people in controller Microdisc or AmpliBus.

Post by Hialmar » Fri Sep 11, 2015 5:27 pm

Yeah !!!

Thanks a lot, ahead of the work you'll put in making my controller.
Hialmar
CEO and Silicium member.

blazeaster
Private
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 5:30 pm

Re: Interested people in controller Microdisc or AmpliBus.

Post by blazeaster » Sat Sep 12, 2015 5:56 pm

Hi,

I'm really new to Oric. I have oric nova 64, its a rebrand of oric atmos. Can I use the controller to connect standard 3.5" floppy disk drive? If so I'm interested in one.

Sorry for the stupid question. I just want to make sure. I prefer real floppy disks instead of emulators. :)

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 1910
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Interested people in controller Microdisc or AmpliBus.

Post by Chema » Sat Sep 12, 2015 6:45 pm

Yes you can.

I have two in my configuration. In fact you can connect up to four drives, 3", 3.5" or 5 1/4".

And of course you can connect floppy emulators too.

Cheers!

User avatar
Silicebit.
Flying Officer
Posts: 192
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 10:18 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain
Contact:

Re: Interested people in controller Microdisc or AmpliBus.

Post by Silicebit. » Sun Sep 13, 2015 8:33 pm

Here you have a demostration video. Enjoy. :-)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tmLNQBkLeG0

Sorry, in spanish only.

And here the controller working with HxC slim.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QrGnk8QKU_w

Cheers!
Oric user since 1984.

User avatar
Silicebit.
Flying Officer
Posts: 192
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 10:18 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain
Contact:

Re: Interested people in controller Microdisc or AmpliBus.

Post by Silicebit. » Fri Sep 25, 2015 11:16 am

List updated in first post. :-)

@freaktmp, you have a p.m.
Oric user since 1984.

User avatar
Hialmar
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 11:25 am
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: Interested people in controller Microdisc or AmpliBus.

Post by Hialmar » Sat Sep 26, 2015 11:48 am

I'm next :)

Thanks again Silicebit :)
Hialmar
CEO and Silicium member.

wsdefe
Private
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 11:11 am

Re: Interested people in controller Microdisc or AmpliBus.

Post by wsdefe » Wed Oct 21, 2015 5:26 am

Thanks for late !! I am navice here ! coquegsm

Panther
Private
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 4:05 pm
Location: UK

Re: Interested people in controller Microdisc or AmpliBus.

Post by Panther » Fri Dec 11, 2015 7:22 pm

I've just got hold of a micro disc but have no controller for it, are these compatible and will more be available ?

User avatar
iss
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 430
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Interested people in controller Microdisc or AmpliBus.

Post by iss » Fri Dec 11, 2015 9:58 pm

The Microdisc controller discussed in this topic works with almost any type of floppy drive (i.e 3",3.5",5.25").
Else in common there are 2 types of standard Microdiscs:
- master - it has controller and 3" drive;
- slave - it has only drive and can be used only together with master one.
If you have master drive - you don't need controller, but if you have slave drive then, yes, this controller can be used with the slave drive. I'm just no sure if this controller can be fit inside the slave drive box :?:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest