Replic'Oric

This is the right place to discuss on how to implement hardware vsync, adding a VIA or AY chipset, puting multiple roms, or how to design a new flash expansion card.
Godzil
Squad Leader
Posts: 774
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Location: Between UK and France
Contact:

Re: Replic'Oric

Post by Godzil »

Another demo that demonstrate a bit more the colorfulness
Attachments
FIRETASK.tap
(1.04 KiB) Downloaded 575 times
User avatar
iss
Wing Commander
Posts: 1637
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Replic'Oric

Post by iss »

Very nice! I like it.
Everything works as explained (even under Linux+wine :)).
Godzil
Squad Leader
Posts: 774
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Location: Between UK and France
Contact:

Re: Replic'Oric

Post by Godzil »

Here is the "Firetask" demo source code:

Code: Select all

1 CLS
10 POKE #3E0,1
20 POKE #3E1,1
29 GOSUB 1000
30 FOR Y=0 TO 28
31 Z=0:W=0
40 FOR X=0 TO 39
50 IF (X AND 1)=0 THEN W=INT(X/8) ELSE POKE #3E3, W*16+INT(X/8)
51 POKE #BB80+(Y*40)+X,Z+16
52 Z=Z+1:IF Z>7 THEN Z=0
60 NEXT
70 NEXT
79 'NOW GENERATE THE PALETTE
80 'RED TO BLACK PALETTE
81 POKE #3E1,0:GOSUB 1000
82 FOR I=0TO 15
83 POKE #3E3,I:POKE #3E3,0
84 WAIT 50:NEXT
85 FOR I=0TO 15
86 POKE #3E3,15:POKE #3E3,(I*16)
87 WAIT 50:NEXT
88 FOR I=0TO 15
89 POKE #3E3,15:POKE #3E3,240+I
90 WAIT 50:NEXT
100 GOSUB 1000
101 FOR I=0 TO 15
102 POKE #3E3,0:POKE #3E3,16*I
103 NEXT
104 FOR I=0 TO 15
105 POKE #3E3,0:POKE #3E3,240+I
106 NEXT
107 FOR I=0 TO 15
108 POKE #3E3,I:POKE #3E3,255
109 NEXT
110 GOSUB 1000
111 FOR I=0TO 15
112 POKE #3E3,0:POKE #3E3,I
113 NEXT
114 FOR I=0TO15
115 POKE #3E3,I:POKE #3E3,15
116 NEXT
117 FOR I=0TO15
118 POKE #3E3,15:POKE #3E3,15+16*I
119 NEXT
120 GOSUB 1000
121 FOR I=0TO15
122 POKE #3E3,I:POKE #3E3,0
123 NEXT
124 FORI=0 TO 15
125 POKE #3E3,15:POKE #3E3,I
126 NEXT
127 FOR I=0TO15
128 POKE #3E3,15:POKE #3E3,15+I*16
129 NEXT
130 GOTO 100
999 END
1000 'SET PTR TO 0
1001 POKE #3E2,0:POKE #3E2,0
1002 RETURN
Godzil
Squad Leader
Posts: 774
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Location: Between UK and France
Contact:

Re: Replic'Oric

Post by Godzil »

BTW, what do you think about a simple general purpose DMA, with one input address, one output address and for each the increment step (0, 1, 2, ...)

This DMA will be of course during the time where the CPU does not use the memory BUS, so it would be done without any performance loss.
User avatar
iss
Wing Commander
Posts: 1637
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Replic'Oric

Post by iss »

IMHO DMA is good feature always, but it will require new expansion of the expansion connector for DMA control lines.
Godzil
Squad Leader
Posts: 774
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Location: Between UK and France
Contact:

Re: Replic'Oric

Post by Godzil »

It will be part of the "NewOric". I don't think it could be made for an actual Oric extension...
highwayman
Flying Officer
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 8:08 pm

Re: Replic'Oric

Post by highwayman »

any chance you can share the schems & code for that keyboard interface?
:D
Godzil
Squad Leader
Posts: 774
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Location: Between UK and France
Contact:

Re: Replic'Oric

Post by Godzil »

A video of what you can get with current implementation of the NewOric colour overlay in Oricutron:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kp5pDU7AyhU
User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 3013
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Replic'Oric

Post by Chema »

Wow!!! That looks incredible!

So many possibilities here! Indeed something that those guys should have added to a new machine such as the Telestrat!.

Will surely have to give all this a deeper look :)
Godzil
Squad Leader
Posts: 774
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Location: Between UK and France
Contact:

Re: Replic'Oric

Post by Godzil »

Chema wrote:Wow!!! That looks incredible!

So many possibilities here! Indeed something that those guys should have added to a new machine such as the Telestrat!.

Will surely have to give all this a deeper look :)
I knew that you would like it ^^
User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 3013
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Replic'Oric

Post by Chema »

Just a small question How did you manage to create a video showing Oricutron's menu? Whenever I try to enter the menu, the video capture option seems to fail... At least it stops the capture and the generated video is not complete (doesn't even reach the instant I click to get the menu onscreen).
Godzil
Squad Leader
Posts: 774
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Location: Between UK and France
Contact:

Re: Replic'Oric

Post by Godzil »

Chema wrote:Just a small question How did you manage to create a video showing Oricutron's menu? Whenever I try to enter the menu, the video capture option seems to fail... At least it stops the capture and the generated video is not complete (doesn't even reach the instant I click to get the menu onscreen).

I filmed my screen using specialised software (here QuickTime X on OS X) and not oricutron video output, I tried the video output but it seems really unreliable, and it does not support the overlay I create (we just get standard oric output without the shinny colours)
Godzil
Squad Leader
Posts: 774
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Location: Between UK and France
Contact:

Re: Replic'Oric

Post by Godzil »

I've realized that I never release the schematics..

This is not the final one as the hardware vsync won't work ^^ (will need to work on this) and the PCB routing is clearly not finished (kicad was just a bargain to route bus, but latest change will start to make it better to use, I will resume work on it in a few weeks)

Anyway here is a link to the Issue 6.1 schematics:

http://www.986-studio.com/wp-content/up ... matics.pdf

When the PCB will be finished, I will release the kicad files for the schematics and PCB.

BTW, as this schematics is a redrawn version of the issue from 24/02/1984 version that we can find on the web, plus the addition of all the reworks from the service manual and the one coming from Oric France, and even that I've done tons of check, verifying on the real thing, on the original schematics, I may made some mistake in components value or tracks. So please if you found one, tell me so that I can update and correct it.

And current roadmap is as follow:

Mid October: The schematics should be finished followed by a verification that everything is OK => The "new" schematic will be released
Mid november: The PCB layout should be done => release of the PCB layout
TBD: A batch of PCB could be done (10 pieces will cost around $10/PCB, 30 pieces will be around $7, VAT and delivery excluded)
TBD: Depending on the difficulty of sourcing components, fully functional replica PCB could be made and sold (price unknown as it will really depends on components prices)

For the last point, 65C02 and 65C22 are not so hard to source (and does not cost too much), but the AY-3-8912 is nowhere to be found as new parts so a changes in schematics to use CPLD of a FPGA to replace the 8912 is nearly a necessity.. (or create a PCB for a replacement of the AY chip.)
For the PCB, it will depends on the demands, I don't actually need one, until enough people are interested to get the PCB or replica, I may postpone indefinitely this point.

But don't worry, I will release the PCB design for sure, I'm just not sure to launch a batch of the PCB if there is not enough demand for it, so please if anyone is interested tell me so that I can evaluate if it can be possible. Also tell me if you want only a PCB or a fully working (but with no copyrighted ROM) replica?
User avatar
freaktmp
2nd Star Corporal
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 5:07 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: Replic'Oric

Post by freaktmp »

I'd definitely be interested in one pcb (probably more, depending on the price).

As for a complete replica, perhaps (if the price was right).

How about a kit?
Godzil
Squad Leader
Posts: 774
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Location: Between UK and France
Contact:

Re: Replic'Oric

Post by Godzil »

A kit is definitely possible as there will be no SMD part to solder on this version.
Post Reply