Atmos : it doesn't start !

If you want to ask questions about how the machine works, peculiar details, the differences between models, here it is !
How to program the oric hardware (VIA, FDC, ...) is also welcome.
Post Reply
colossusfr
Private
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 7:07 pm

Atmos : it doesn't start !

Post by colossusfr » Mon Mar 19, 2018 7:46 pm

Hi,

I have just found my old Oric Atmos at my parent's home. I bought it in the 80's and I learned a lot from it.
It was in a good storage for all these years.

After buying a new power and a new scart cable, I tried to switch it on. It starts but not with the good screen. Here is what I see :
Image

Is there someone who could help me ? Which component could fail ?

Thanks,
Alain.

User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 2605
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Atmos : it doesn't start !

Post by Dbug » Mon Mar 19, 2018 7:57 pm

What you can try is to open it, leave it running for a short while and then put your fingers over the ram chips, see if one or more are warmer than the other, that's a common issue.

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2243
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Atmos : it doesn't start !

Post by Chema » Mon Mar 19, 2018 9:13 pm

Yep. Usually suspects are RAM chips. Beware a defective chip may become really hot and you can burn your finger.

At least the computer is booting.

You can also check voltages to see if they are correct in all chips. Gently press the chips that are in sockets, or remove them, clean the contacts and try again.

Also be sure your PSU works correctly.

colossusfr
Private
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 7:07 pm

Re: Atmos : it doesn't start !

Post by colossusfr » Tue Mar 20, 2018 8:34 am

Thanks for your reply.

I'll try to check all the RAM.

Alain.

User avatar
Steve M
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 434
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 3:33 am
Location: Cumbria, UK
Contact:

Re: Atmos : it doesn't start !

Post by Steve M » Wed Apr 11, 2018 6:41 pm

That looks like it's booting. Do you get key clicks? If you type PING [return] can you hear the sound ?

I suspect a problem with ULA or ROM. Check pins are all connected in any socketed chips.

User avatar
NekoNoNiaow
Pilot Officer
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Montreal, Canadia

Re: Atmos : it doesn't start !

Post by NekoNoNiaow » Fri Apr 20, 2018 5:02 am

As indicated by Chema, check the voltages of your power supply.
It should be providing +9V to the Oric, which are then regulated internally to +5V.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests