Oric Atmos query

If you want to ask questions about how the machine works, peculiar details, the differences between models, here it is !
How to program the oric hardware (VIA, FDC, ...) is also welcome.
User avatar
Vyper68
2nd Star Corporal
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 4:18 pm
Location: Darlington UK

Re: Oric Atmos query

Post by Vyper68 » Thu Oct 09, 2014 4:33 pm

Well I have replaced all 3 electrolytic capacitors that are on the board. I replaced C21 first and quickly tested the Atmos and it seemed to have cured the problem it booted straight away :D :D :D
However, I thought that while I have my soldering iorn in use I would change the other 2 as well then all will have been replaced with nice shiny new components and after testing all seems good so far.
So thank you for the advice :D
I would like to fit sockets to all my chips on the PCB but that is for another day when I have a spare chips like 6502,6522 in case I make a mistake. It has taken me a long time to get another Atmos and I would not like to damage it.
Bazinga!

User avatar
iss
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 430
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Oric Atmos query

Post by iss » Thu Oct 09, 2014 5:08 pm

I'm glad I was able to help. :D
Else think twice before start mass-desoldering - it's really risky.

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 1910
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Oric Atmos query

Post by Chema » Thu Oct 09, 2014 6:04 pm

Nice! :D

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest