Problem with my Cumulus

If you want to ask questions about how the machine works, peculiar details, the differences between models, here it is !
How to program the oric hardware (VIA, FDC, ...) is also welcome.
Post Reply
jorodr
Flying Officer
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 9:04 pm
Contact:

Problem with my Cumulus

Post by jorodr » Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:53 pm

Hello guys,
I have ested 3 sd cards, but I have a message SD Card IO Error. Is it something I must do before plug? I just formatted the cards and wrote the sedoric.dsk to them. Sorry, I don't know what else to do. Is there a list of supported cards?
Thanks in advance.

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2016
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Cumulus

Post by Chema » Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:21 pm

You have a list of cards that were tested successfully in the 1st post in the Cumulus preorder thread. However my own experience is that probably any SDHC card will work, but not normal SD cards. It must be HC.

User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 2345
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Cumulus

Post by Dbug » Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:42 pm

Would be nice if you could give the exact brand/type/capacity of cards you used.
I'm updating the first post of the pre-order thread with the list of known stuff.

Godzil
Squad Leader
Posts: 755
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Location: Between UK and France
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Cumulus

Post by Godzil » Fri Feb 21, 2014 1:46 am

The non SDHC card support is a known problem, and it is under investigation

User avatar
coco.oric
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 420
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:50 am
Location: North of France
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Cumulus

Post by coco.oric » Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:38 am

The non SDHC card support is a known problem, and it is under investigation
However it's not a big problem. It's easier to find an SDHC card than an SD 1Go
coco.oric as DidierV, CEO Member
Image Image

jorodr
Flying Officer
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 9:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Cumulus

Post by jorodr » Fri Feb 21, 2014 4:17 pm

Hello,
Thanks for the answers.
I didn't know I must use only HC cards. Anyway, two of the cards were not HC. The third is HC and is not working. It is Kingston 8GB. Just to know.
Best regards,
George

Godzil
Squad Leader
Posts: 755
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Location: Between UK and France
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Cumulus

Post by Godzil » Tue Feb 25, 2014 5:48 pm

coco.oric wrote:
The non SDHC card support is a known problem, and it is under investigation
However it's not a big problem. It's easier to find an SDHC card than an SD 1Go
Yes and no, 2GB SD card are still common (and I have plenty of them :D)
Buying a 4GB Sd card only for the cumulus bother me a bit :D (even if I have some ^^)

Even in the SD device for my SNES I use a 2GB SD card ;)

jorodr
Flying Officer
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 9:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Cumulus

Post by jorodr » Tue Feb 25, 2014 6:13 pm

Now I have found that Cumulus don't work on my Oric Nova 64, but work on my Atmos. I don't know why. The PSU is 3A. Its strange, because my Microdisc work perfect on both computers...

Godzil
Squad Leader
Posts: 755
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Location: Between UK and France
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Cumulus

Post by Godzil » Tue Feb 25, 2014 6:35 pm

For any problem with your cumulus, please look at this thread: http://forum.defence-force.org/viewtopi ... =23&t=1036

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests