Sprites

Here you can ask questions or provide insights about how to use efficiently 6502 assembly code on the Oric.
User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 2304
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Sprites

Post by Dbug » Tue Dec 10, 2013 12:53 pm

Looks cute :)

User avatar
ibisum
Squad Leader
Posts: 839
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 8:56 am

Re: Sprites

Post by ibisum » Tue Dec 10, 2013 1:47 pm

Very cute looking - I like the monochrome effect of having motion on top of black/white background .. will be curious to see where you go with this.

User avatar
Algarbi
Pilot Officer
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 10:47 pm

Re: Sprites

Post by Algarbi » Tue Dec 10, 2013 2:35 pm

@Ibisum

It is a version of a game that was originaly coded for the ZX Spectrum.

Here you can check out my Commodore 64 port: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vp73Ls-Ovxw
Last edited by Algarbi on Tue Dec 10, 2013 3:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 1941
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Sprites

Post by Chema » Tue Dec 10, 2013 3:23 pm

Looks really nice! Congrats.

User avatar
Algarbi
Pilot Officer
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 10:47 pm

Re: Sprites

Post by Algarbi » Tue Dec 10, 2013 3:26 pm

Chema wrote:Looks really nice! Congrats.
Thanks,

But just the sprite engine, gfx and level data are eating most of the memory, I would prefer to go for the tape version but it seems inevitable that it should move to disc version only.

User avatar
barnsey123
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 379
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 10:04 am
Location: Birmingham

Re: Sprites

Post by barnsey123 » Tue Dec 10, 2013 3:50 pm

I'm sure you'll find some memory somewhere...just keep looking and thinking... :)

User avatar
peacer
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 349
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 9:23 pm
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: Sprites

Post by peacer » Tue Dec 10, 2013 6:49 pm

The animation is so smooth really.

I wonder if sprite motor can be arranged to use under basic as if we are using sprites in c64?

So, for example : Lets say we have a machine code routine in memory and graphic data in somewhere else.

- Put sprite graphic data into predefined area
- Determine X and Y coordinates in memory
- Call machine code routine to show up sprite

This way, many games can be programmed easily with even basic using same algorithm

Lets say

10 POKE 0,1 ' SET SPRITE 1 : ON. This could be binary. For example 2 means only sprite 2 is on, 3 = sprite 1 and 2 is on, 4 = sprite 3 is on etc..
20 POKE 1,100 ' X coordinate of sprite 1
30 POKE 2,150 ' Y coordinate of sprite 1
40 CALL #1000 ' Put sprites to the screen according to defined memory locations
50 D-PEEK(5) ' Set 1 if sprite 1 is collided with something etc..

Like this..

I know its not easy as I wanted to explain but wouldn't be excellent for us who are not talented for machine code programming as you? :)

User avatar
coco.oric
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 398
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:50 am
Location: North of France
Contact:

Re: Sprites

Post by coco.oric » Tue Dec 10, 2013 10:56 pm

Nice routines, sprites are moving smoothly
8)
coco.oric as DidierV, CEO Member
Image Image

User avatar
Algarbi
Pilot Officer
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 10:47 pm

Re: Sprites

Post by Algarbi » Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:22 am

Thank you all for the nice words / encouragement. :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest