Identifying Oric-1

Here you can ask questions or provide insights about how to use efficiently 6502 assembly code on the Oric.
User avatar
polluks
Pilot Officer
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 10:09 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Identifying Oric-1

Post by polluks »

Hi!
Do you know a suitable zero page address to identify an Oric-1?

Thanks,
Stefan
cc65 development
Oric Atmos + Cumulus
Acorn Electron
User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 3013
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Identifying Oric-1

Post by Chema »

I cannot tell by memory but I think I once checked using the address of the interrupt Vector in ROM.

I am nearly sure I did it in Oricium so you can have a look at the sources. Check the keyboard.s file... just in case.

When I get to a computer I may have a look at it.
User avatar
iss
Wing Commander
Posts: 1637
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Identifying Oric-1

Post by iss »

Take a look in Atmos ROM disassembly: http://www.defence-force.org/ftp/oric/d ... sembly.pdf
There are lot places marked with V1.0 and V1.1 which show differences in both versions - most are in page 2.
If the question is exactly for a zero page address then you can use $31 - Screen line width.
In Atmos ?PEEK(#31) returns always 40, in Oric-1 - 80 (or 93 if DOS is loaded) (which is actually BUG :)).
BTW, this is used in SEDORIC too.
User avatar
polluks
Pilot Officer
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 10:09 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Identifying Oric-1

Post by polluks »

iss wrote: Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:33 pm Take a look in Atmos ROM disassembly: http://www.defence-force.org/ftp/oric/d ... sembly.pdf
There are lot places marked with V1.0 and V1.1 which show differences in both versions - most are in page 2.
If the question is exactly for a zero page address then you can use $31 - Screen line width.
In Atmos ?PEEK(#31) returns always 40, in Oric-1 - 80 (or 93 if DOS is loaded) (which is actually BUG :)).
BTW, this is used in SEDORIC too.
Perfect, I will use this.
I can even code:

Code: Select all

BIT $31
BVS ORIC1
cc65 development
Oric Atmos + Cumulus
Acorn Electron
Godzil
Squad Leader
Posts: 774
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Location: Between UK and France
Contact:

Re: Identifying Oric-1

Post by Godzil »

Honestly I do think it is better to look at the ROM itself as this value is in RAM and can easily be changed
Post Reply