Unable to create a DSK file with OSDK

Questions, bug reports, features requests, ... about the Oric Software Development Kit. Please indicate clearly in the title the related element (OSDK for generic questions, PictConv, FilePack, XA, Euphoric, etc...) to make it easy to locate messages.

User avatar
coco.oric
Squad Leader
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:50 am
Location: North of France
Contact:

Unable to create a DSK file with OSDK

Post by coco.oric »

Hello,
I've a problem i'm not arrived to solve - with the osdk_config below :

Code: Select all

@ECHO OFF
::
:: Set the build paremeters
::
:: SET XAINPUT=%XAINPUT%,NOISE,WHITE,WORLD

SET OSDKADDR=$500
SET OSDKNAME=INTRO

:: Zone Overlay
:: List of files to put in the DSK File
:: Implicitely includes BUILD\%OSDKNAME%.TAP
:: SET OSDKDISK=world\world.tap  run99.tap ..\intro\build\intro.tap 

SET OSDKFILE=main rout_keyboard rout_divers rout_text rout_hires
SET OSDKFILE=%OSDKFILE% graphs\pnfou_font graphs\pnfou_graph graphs\pnfou_sprite 

SET OSDKTAPNAME="TEST"
SET OSDKDNAME="PLUSTARD"
::SET OSDKDISK=BUILD\%OSDKNAME%.TAP
SET OSDKDISK=data\ANCIENT_FNT.TAP
SET OSDKINIST="CLS:INK3"

:: Uncomment to force to fullscreen mode
:: SET OSDKDOSBOX=
:: SET OSDKCOMP=-O3
I've try several configurations, looking for dsk files but i've always the same result :
a Build\intro.tap file normally created osdk and which is working well.
but no build\intro.dsk that i should have !

I think that i've forgot one thing but i don't see what.
(my computer is working under win7)
coco.oric as DidierV, CEO Member
Historic owner of Oric, Apple II, Atari ST, Amiga
User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 4437
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Unable to create a DSK file with OSDK

Post by Dbug »

It's a bug in the OSDK.

Please try the following fix:
- edit %OSDK%\BIN\MAKE.BAT
- line 284, comment out the line with DSKTOOL and uncomment the line with TAP2DSK instead:
::
:: Generate the DSK file. If OSDKFILE is empty we assume (hm hmmm) that the caller is packaging itself with floppybuilder. (WIP)
::
IF "%OSDKDISK%"=="" GOTO EndBuildDisk
IF "%OSDKFILE%"=="" GOTO EndBuildDisk

::%OSDK%\bin\DskTool.exe -n%OSDKDNAME% -i%OSDKINIST% %OSDKDISK% build\%OSDKNAME%.tap build\%OSDKNAME%.dsk
%OSDK%\bin\tap2dsk.exe %OSDKDISK% build\%OSDKNAME%.tap build\%OSDKNAME%.dsk
%OSDK%\bin\old2mfm.exe build\%OSDKNAME%.DSK

:EndBuildDisk
Hopefully that should fix the problem.
User avatar
coco.oric
Squad Leader
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:50 am
Location: North of France
Contact:

Re: Unable to create a DSK file with OSDK

Post by coco.oric »

Thanks dbug, it works fine now. I've got my dsk file working with oricutron (i forgot to say that i've updated my osdk and using 1.2 version.)

Now i'm discovering an artefact.
In my dsk, i've my TEST.COM file, ok
But i've also a ANCIENTFN.COM file ! I've put a file test with the ANCIENT.FNT file inside. And the name is modified by tap2dsk.
Is there is a solution to keep the original name ?

Didier
coco.oric as DidierV, CEO Member
Historic owner of Oric, Apple II, Atari ST, Amiga
User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 4437
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Unable to create a DSK file with OSDK

Post by Dbug »

As far as I can seen, not without changing the code:
http://miniserve.defence-force.org/svn/ ... /tap2dsk.c

Apparently your .FNT must be executable, which is why it got converted to .COM, but if it had not been, then it would have been a .BIN.
User avatar
coco.oric
Squad Leader
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:50 am
Location: North of France
Contact:

Re: Unable to create a DSK file with OSDK

Post by coco.oric »

Merci Dbug, i'll try with my real data file when i'll have finish it.
If it's necessary, i'll look to modify this conversion tool.

Didier
coco.oric as DidierV, CEO Member
Historic owner of Oric, Apple II, Atari ST, Amiga
Post Reply