How to load a software from a menu with sedoric

Since we do not have native C compilers on the Oric, this forum will be mostly be used by people using CC65 or the OSDK. But any general C related post will be welcome !
User avatar
coco.oric
Squad Leader
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:50 am
Location: North of France
Contact:

How to load a software from a menu with sedoric

Post by coco.oric »

Hello, i wanted to make a dsk menu with osdk.
Is it possible to have a c program (or 6502) and to load and run another one from it (even if it's a basic one) and what's the good sentence for code

Thanks a lot, Didier
coco.oric as DidierV, CEO Member
Historic owner of Oric, Apple II, Atari ST, Amiga
User avatar
barnsey123
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 379
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 10:04 am
Location: Birmingham

Re: How to load a software from a menu with sedoric

Post by barnsey123 »

Try a short BASIC program to do something like:

1. GAME1
2. GAME2
3. GAME3 etc

PRESS Number to LOAD

On your disk you would have a game1.com, game2.com etc

if (x=1) !GAME1.COM
if (x=2) !GAME2.COM

something like that
User avatar
coco.oric
Squad Leader
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:50 am
Location: North of France
Contact:

Re: How to load a software from a menu with sedoric

Post by coco.oric »

Thanks a lot, but i wanted to try to do it in C or 6502 code.
And i don't know the disk commands in C
coco.oric as DidierV, CEO Member
Historic owner of Oric, Apple II, Atari ST, Amiga
User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 3013
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: How to load a software from a menu with sedoric

Post by Chema »

There is a hack in the C library for calling Sedoric, but I don't have access to the OSDK documentation just now, and I don't remember.

You can surely look for it I the includes directory.

As soon as I get to my PC I will look for the info.
User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 4437
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: How to load a software from a menu with sedoric

Post by Dbug »

Indeed there's support in the OSDK for that:
http://miniserve.defence-force.org/svn/ ... /SEDORIC.S

Now a disclaimer: it was there in the original C compiler for Oric by Fabrice and Alexios, I never myself used it so I have no idea if it works at all or not.
That being said, if you manage to use it please tell us how it works with some examples so everybody can benefit from that :)
User avatar
coco.oric
Squad Leader
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:50 am
Location: North of France
Contact:

Re: How to load a software from a menu with sedoric

Post by coco.oric »

Hello, the Sedoric subroutine seems to work.
I succedeed in making a DIR command and in loading a BASIC (.COM) software.

Code: Select all

void Sedoric(const char *ptr_message);			// Lance une commande DOS

void main()
{ 
         Sedoric ("!DIR");
}
coco.oric as DidierV, CEO Member
Historic owner of Oric, Apple II, Atari ST, Amiga
Post Reply