Cumulus Issues

In this forum you can write about anything that does not fit in other forums.
This includes generic Oric talkings and things that are totaly unrelated but want to share with people here :)
Post Reply
User avatar
barnsey123
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 379
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 10:04 am
Location: Birmingham

Cumulus Issues

Post by barnsey123 » Sat Jan 18, 2014 5:08 pm

Starting a new thread to keep separate from the orders...

Cumulus received OK (looks cool), powers up OK with Atmos. Firmware version 0.5

Have tried two different SDHC cards and neither are detected (SD Card I/O error)

Lexar 4GB Premium Series 60x (class 4)
PNY 8GB Premium (class 4)

Both formatted to FAT32 on a winxp pc.

Do we need to use smaller partitions? (I'm using the full capacity of the cards)?

Any thoughts?

Just tried a different card:

Lexar 1GB SD (not SDHC) that didn't work either...

Faulty Cumulus?

User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 2389
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by Dbug » Sat Jan 18, 2014 5:40 pm

I also used a lexar: http://www.amazon.com/Lexar-Class-Flash ... m_sbs_pc_8
Category 4, 16GB, worked fine

I also have a 8GB Samsung which worked fine.
The only one that did not work so far is my Kingston 120X, but it's not a SDHC.

All are formated in FAT32, and the .DSK file are recognized without any problem.

As a side note: If I put an empty card, I get a IO Error.

User avatar
barnsey123
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 379
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 10:04 am
Location: Birmingham

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by barnsey123 » Sat Jan 18, 2014 5:57 pm

Just tried a KINGSTON 256MB SD card (ancient I know) and that isn't recognized either.

I've tried putting files in an ORIC directory and some files in no directory at all. Also tried having all files in upper case, all lower case etc.

Is there anything specific I need to do? Am I doing something wrong?

I've been placing the card in the drive then powering on (I get a display listing drives a:,b:,c:,d: but they are all empty.) I press the top right button and I see the IO error message.

So far, 3 different makes (PNY, LEXAR, KINGSTON), 4 capacities (8gb/4gb/1gb/256mb) , 2 formats (SD and SDHC). No luck so far and I've ran out of cards to try...

User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 2389
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by Dbug » Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:05 pm

barnsey123 wrote:I've been placing the card in the drive then powering on (I get a display listing drives a:,b:,c:,d: but they are all empty.) I press the top right button and I see the IO error message.
Try that multiple time.

For me it happens that the card detection change was not working, but when I reselected on the second attempt it worked.
Perhaps you have something similar?

As for folders/no folders, both are working. The navigation could be better (it shows the '.' and '..' entries and you need to use the second button to change pages) so it's on my list of things to do :)

User avatar
barnsey123
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 379
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 10:04 am
Location: Birmingham

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by barnsey123 » Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:16 pm

OK thanks I'll give it a whirl. Will try tomorrow.

User avatar
metadata
Pilot Officer
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 7:59 pm
Location: Hildesheim, Germany
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by metadata » Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:20 pm

I try every Cumulus with a "Transcend" SDHC Class 6 16GB card.
The firmware was flashed with a "Samsung"SDHC Class 4 4GB card.

User avatar
ibisum
Squad Leader
Posts: 879
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 8:56 am

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by ibisum » Sat Jan 18, 2014 8:57 pm

I'm having a bit of problem getting my Cumulus booted up .. just getting junk on the Atmos screen (Atmos is not booting) but the Cumulus is booting .. maybe I need a better power supply .. or something. Without Cumulus plugged in, Atmos boots fine..

Will try to do update now.

User avatar
metadata
Pilot Officer
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 7:59 pm
Location: Hildesheim, Germany
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by metadata » Sat Jan 18, 2014 9:03 pm

you need a powersupply with 1A or more

User avatar
barnsey123
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 379
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 10:04 am
Location: Birmingham

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by barnsey123 » Sat Jan 18, 2014 9:12 pm

DOH!

Had the cards in upside down...someone shoot me... :roll:

Both my SDHC cards now work OK. The older SD cards aren't recognized (not in firmware 0.5 anyway)

Tomorrow I will try upgrading the firmware.

So, working fine are:

PNY 8GB Class 4 Premium
Lexar 4GB Class 4 Premium 60x

Sorry for any scares I may have caused to people...

User avatar
metadata
Pilot Officer
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 7:59 pm
Location: Hildesheim, Germany
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by metadata » Sat Jan 18, 2014 9:15 pm

Had the cards in upside down...someone shoot me...
:D how can you insert the card upsidde down? i tryed that and you need a lot of force to do than.
but one thing is clear. we need a wiki for the cumulus.

User avatar
metadata
Pilot Officer
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 7:59 pm
Location: Hildesheim, Germany
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by metadata » Sat Jan 18, 2014 9:16 pm

not in firmware 0.5 anyway
the version 0.5 is the actual one.

User avatar
ibisum
Squad Leader
Posts: 879
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 8:56 am

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by ibisum » Sat Jan 18, 2014 9:17 pm

Got it sorted, trying to find a cumulus.bin to do an update .. are you on irc?

User avatar
metadata
Pilot Officer
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 7:59 pm
Location: Hildesheim, Germany
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by metadata » Sat Jan 18, 2014 9:18 pm

you need the bootloader first. i sent you a pm with a link in a minute.

User avatar
metadata
Pilot Officer
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 7:59 pm
Location: Hildesheim, Germany
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by metadata » Sat Jan 18, 2014 9:19 pm

where in the irc can i find you?

User avatar
ibisum
Squad Leader
Posts: 879
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 8:56 am

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by ibisum » Sat Jan 18, 2014 9:22 pm

In #oric on freenode?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests