Cumulus Issues

In this forum you can write about anything that does not fit in other forums.
This includes generic Oric talkings and things that are totaly unrelated but want to share with people here :)
jorodr
Flying Officer
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 9:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by jorodr » Tue Mar 11, 2014 3:27 pm

Sorry Chema,
my oscilloscope is rather old and could not make snapshot. Maybe I must try to do this with camera.. I'll thing.
Because I don't know where to look. Is there any control point on the pcb to look with oscilloscope?

User avatar
Steve M
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 493
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 3:33 am
Location: Cumbria, UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by Steve M » Sat Mar 15, 2014 11:01 pm

I've been reading through the first few pages of this before I test my Cumulus. I'm a bit confused and think there is a real need for a set-up guide.
There is nothing in the instructions sent to say I needed a different power supply.

There was some mention of different software early on in the thread and I'm not sure what if anything is required on the card, (apart from disk images).

Writing to the card isn't easy for me. My camera doesn't allow it and the printer slot doesn't seem to do anything. I've had to find an audio recorder. I guess some computers have the right slots but mine doesn't so it makes writing to a card a bit tricky. I wasn't sure if the Cumulus could be connected to the PC but it doesn't appear to have any slots.

As you can see I'm not to good at working these things so a bit of an 'Idiots Guide' would be really useful.

User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 2930
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by Dbug » Sat Mar 15, 2014 11:38 pm

I'm using a generic 2 euros USB adapter:
- plug it in any USB slot on the pc
- put the sd card in it
- read and write files

I've been using that for years, it's much faster than using the camera software, and it works on most machines without even installing drivers :)

User avatar
Symoon
Archivist
Posts: 1631
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 12:44 am
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by Symoon » Sun Mar 16, 2014 8:03 am

Dbug wrote:I'm using a generic 2 euros USB adapter:
- plug it in any USB slot on the pc
- put the sd card in it
- read and write files

I've been using that for years, it's much faster than using the camera software, and it works on most machines without even installing drivers :)
Beware though with Windows XP SP3: it crashes SDHC cards when using an external USB SD Card reader. Lost some photos this way.
The solution then is to reinstall XP SP2 drivers, or use an internal reader.

Problem seems to exist only with XP SP3 combined with SDHC.

User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 2930
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by Dbug » Sun Mar 16, 2014 11:22 am

Symoon: Good to know, that being said XP is being deprecated this month :)

Godzil
Squad Leader
Posts: 763
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Location: Between UK and France
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by Godzil » Sun Mar 16, 2014 4:41 pm

Symoon wrote:
Dbug wrote:I'm using a generic 2 euros USB adapter:
- plug it in any USB slot on the pc
- put the sd card in it
- read and write files

I've been using that for years, it's much faster than using the camera software, and it works on most machines without even installing drivers :)
Beware though with Windows XP SP3: it crashes SDHC cards when using an external USB SD Card reader. Lost some photos this way.
The solution then is to reinstall XP SP2 drivers, or use an internal reader.

Problem seems to exist only with XP SP3 combined with SDHC.
I never saw this O_o

User avatar
Steve M
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 493
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 3:33 am
Location: Cumbria, UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by Steve M » Sun Mar 16, 2014 11:10 pm

Dbug wrote:I'm using a generic 2 euros USB adapter:
- plug it in any USB slot on the pc
- put the sd card in it
- read and write files

I've been using that for years, it's much faster than using the camera software, and it works on most machines without even installing drivers :)
Thanks. My partner Ally has a USB card reader I can use - I never knew she had one. I don't think she has used it as we bought a card reader as part of the PC she got.

I'm on Win7 64bit which works most of the time but seems to clash with some software. (I can't get Adobe Flash working at the moment - real pain!)

User avatar
Steve M
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 493
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 3:33 am
Location: Cumbria, UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by Steve M » Mon Mar 17, 2014 2:49 pm

I've got a 1.5amp power supply. Is that going to be OK or is it over-cooking it?

I'm worried that the Atmos might not like a heavy load.

User avatar
Xeron
Emulation expert
Posts: 389
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 5:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by Xeron » Mon Mar 17, 2014 2:59 pm

it'll be fine, the oric will draw as much current as it needs.

Godzil
Squad Leader
Posts: 763
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Location: Between UK and France
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by Godzil » Mon Mar 17, 2014 5:53 pm

Whatever the device, you could put a 2TA that it will not matter, what is really important is to have the correct voltage, the correct polarisation, and enougth Amp for the device, i.e. if the device want a 500mA input , you need at least a power supply capable of delivring 500mA. A bit more is generaly needed, especially on cheap power supply.

With high rated amp supply, you will only have a problem if there is a short circuit. The more the supply is able to provide, the more the short circuit will be worse. But this should never happen ^^

User avatar
Xeron
Emulation expert
Posts: 389
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 5:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by Xeron » Mon Mar 17, 2014 10:37 pm

Thats correct, but with one caveat, high rated power supplies can have problems maintaining the advertised voltage if they are under-loaded, but I don't think it really applies here :-)

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2450
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by Chema » Mon Mar 17, 2014 10:57 pm

I am using a ZX Spectrum + 1.5 A PSU (with the polarity reversed) and it works perfectly with Oric+Cumulus. And it also has a switch to turn it on and off, which is a bless.

I also read somewhere that you could use a 7.5Volt PSU, better than a 9V, which will make the Oric's regulator dissipate less heat. That is surely good for the machine.

Antiriad2097
Flying Officer
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 9:42 pm
Location: Aberdeen, UK
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by Antiriad2097 » Mon Mar 17, 2014 11:24 pm

Chema wrote:I am using a ZX Spectrum + 1.5 A PSU (with the polarity reversed) and it works perfectly with Oric+Cumulus.
Good to know, as that's what I planned to use once I get an adapter to reverse the polarity (don't want to cut the cable so I can still use it vwith my Speccy).

User avatar
Marq
Private
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 11:15 pm
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by Marq » Sun Mar 23, 2014 9:53 pm

Tested my two Cumuluses today and finally got them working. All the problems were, in the end, related to incompatible SDHCs. Managed to find a working one eventually :)

User avatar
Xeron
Emulation expert
Posts: 389
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 5:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Cumulus Issues

Post by Xeron » Mon Mar 24, 2014 8:17 am

does that mean an oric demo from fit is on the way? :wink:

Post Reply