Oricutron 1.0 (EDIT: Now 1.2)

Comments, problems, suggestions about Oric emulators (Euphoric, Mess, Amoric, etc...) it's the right place to ask. And don't hesitate to give your tips and tricks that help using these emulations in the best possible way on your favorite operating system.
User avatar
iss
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Oricutron 1.0 (EDIT: Now 1.2)

Post by iss » Mon Nov 28, 2016 9:48 pm

New update to Oricutron:
  • Added new option "50Hz/60Hz aspect ratio" in "Video options..." menu.
    This option is available only with OpenGL render.
  • Status bar displays difference in scan-lines between VSync and VIA's timer 1.
    By default this is disabled. Use 'make DEBUG_VSYNC=1' to enable it during Oricutron's compilation.
Some pictures of simple program to switch 50Hz/60Hz text mode and the results. VSYNC in status bar shows different numbers because timer 1 is not set with proper value for selected mode (19966/16894).
5060.jpg

User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 2368
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Oricutron 1.0 (EDIT: Now 1.2)

Post by Dbug » Mon Nov 28, 2016 10:02 pm

Hmmm, I think in 50hz the ratio should be more crushed: Circles are supposed to look like elipses :)

User avatar
iss
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Oricutron 1.0 (EDIT: Now 1.2)

Post by iss » Mon Nov 28, 2016 10:25 pm

Ups ...my bad! Thanks, Dbug.
EDIT: Now it's fixed ...
5060-fixed.jpg
... and it's just like real Oric on LCD TV :)
5060-tv.jpg

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2068
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Oricutron 1.0 (EDIT: Now 1.2)

Post by Chema » Mon Nov 28, 2016 11:54 pm

One sec... are you saying that in 60Hz mode the screen aspect ratio is not the usual in the Oric????

:shock:

I thought they were both the same, independently of the mode, as the number of pixels is still far from the 4:3 (240x224 and not 320x224), as the 60Hz is just a refresh rate...

User avatar
Xeron
Emulation expert
Posts: 382
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 5:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Oricutron 1.0 (EDIT: Now 1.2)

Post by Xeron » Thu Dec 01, 2016 11:22 pm

Wow, iss! Nice work! Glad someone has time to work on Oricutron while I'm too busy :-)

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2068
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Oricutron 1.0 (EDIT: Now 1.2)

Post by Chema » Fri Jan 20, 2017 2:28 pm

This is an example of what I always wanted in an emulator: remote debugging, so I can write a program which tells Oricutron to dump the memory from A to B continuously and the program could interpret the dump for me (decoding the data and telling the sate of threads, my memory block list, objects in memory and their status, whatever....)

This is being done in ZEsarUX, a great speccy (and more!) emulator.

https://youtu.be/ZN9Lho6j_xY

I understand it is not easy, and not sure if it would be portable enough (it is using sockets), so just toying with the idea ;)

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2068
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Oricutron 1.0 (EDIT: Now 1.2)

Post by Chema » Thu Feb 02, 2017 1:12 pm

Nobody is listening to me :cry:

If you only knew how this characteristic evolved in that zx-spectrum emulator and the possibilities it opens for debugging...

User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 2368
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Oricutron 1.0 (EDIT: Now 1.2)

Post by Dbug » Thu Feb 02, 2017 2:30 pm

Maybe it would make sense to have something like a GDB compatible layer, that would make it possible to attach to Oricutron as if it was a GDB instance, which means you could run and debug visually in things like Code::Blocks :)

User avatar
maximus
Flying Officer
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 7:45 pm
Location: Nimes, France

Screenshots in oricutron ?

Post by maximus » Sat Oct 21, 2017 9:00 am

Screenshots in oricutron ?

I don't find the way to make screenshots, is it impossible ?

I need 240x228 pixels pictures

thanks

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2068
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Oricutron 1.0 (EDIT: Now 1.2)

Post by Chema » Sat Oct 21, 2017 11:46 am

The only way to get screenshot is using the print screen function from the operating system. Remember to reduce the zoom of the emulator display because it is by default set to x2.

In fact i'm not sure this is possible.

User avatar
iss
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 499
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Oricutron 1.0 (EDIT: Now 1.2)

Post by iss » Sat Oct 21, 2017 12:41 pm

For 240x224 pictures you can capture very short video - press F10, wait a second, press F10 again to stop capture.
Than using ffmpeg extract the first frame:

Code: Select all

ffmpeg -y -i video00.avi -frames:v 1 test.png
You can use png, jpg, bmp ....

Some results:
test.png
test.png (1.86 KiB) Viewed 311 times
b7.png
b7.png (3.3 KiB) Viewed 311 times

User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 2368
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Oricutron 1.0 (EDIT: Now 1.2)

Post by Dbug » Sat Oct 21, 2017 2:33 pm

Would be kind of more practical to have something that automatically saves a screenshot, with auto-numbering, maybe even using the name of the loaded tape or dsk as a base name, incrementing and saving each time you press a key :)

User avatar
maximus
Flying Officer
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 7:45 pm
Location: Nimes, France

Re: Oricutron 1.0 (EDIT: Now 1.2)

Post by maximus » Sat Oct 21, 2017 4:07 pm

Thanks guys, not practical but possible :P

Hope this function will be added in the future

not by me of course :oops: :mrgreen:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests