Orical Backgammon (Dormere Software)

Want to talks about games you like, would like to see developed on the Oric, it's here.
User avatar
Symoon
Archivist
Posts: 1355
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 12:44 am
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: Orical Backgammon (Dormere Software)

Post by Symoon » Sun Jun 30, 2013 8:14 pm

dave3622 wrote:Fair point and interesting to hear about breakout, I have half a dozen copies of that. Will have to check them all.
The key is to have something else to do while the tape is running (book, mail, or whatever). If the tapes are in good condition, the TAP converting and comparing results with a hex editor can be done in 1 or 2 minutes.

I think mainly early programs have been re-written more or less (mainly for Atmos compatibiliy purpose, but sometimes also being re-edited, with new ads at the beginning or new company selling, some being translated, and sometimes enhanced, and finally with modifications I never understood in code).
I sometimes think I'm digging way too far, but it sometimes brings nice surprises like Super Advanced Breakout.

User avatar
Steve M
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 3:33 am
Location: Cumbria, UK
Contact:

Re: Orical Backgammon (Dormere Software)

Post by Steve M » Sun Jun 30, 2013 11:47 pm

I've looked at Orical Backgammon and got it to load. My version has the sticker on the front to say it is Atmos compatible, so it is probably a later version. (I think I had an earlier one but I may have given it away to Twi's friend).
My version has two fast on each side.

It loads OK with no disk drive attached. Attach a disk drive and run BDDISK and it won't load. I tried just QUIT and then CLOAD and it won't load with a drive attached.

Any ideas????

I know this (Cumana) system used to work so is it an issue with power or the Atmos?

User avatar
Symoon
Archivist
Posts: 1355
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 12:44 am
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: Orical Backgammon (Dormere Software)

Post by Symoon » Mon Jul 01, 2013 6:46 am

Steve, I'm not a great specialist when it comes to real disk drives, but maybe this can help:
- I have never managed to load a tape with an Atmos + microdisc
- I read in Théoric that it was a power problem, one signal being too weak (don't know exactly, but I think that's what the "ampli bus" cards are made for: bring more power to have stronger signals?)
- I only ever managed to load/save tapes with Oric-1 + microdisc !

User avatar
Steve M
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 3:33 am
Location: Cumbria, UK
Contact:

Re: Orical Backgammon (Dormere Software)

Post by Steve M » Mon Jul 01, 2013 11:44 am

Thanks for the reply. Yes, I think it may be power issue - but I have loaded tapes previously with my system.

Dave Wilkin did a modification to the Microdisc and Atmos. His system only works with modified Atmoses, so I've tried to avoid it.
(I think the details were in CEO some time ago.)

Post Reply