Re tap2cd does not work

Anything related to the tools Tap2Wav, Tap2CD, Tap2Dsk, Sedoric Disc Manager, Tape Header Creator, WriteDsk, and generaly speaking tools related to the management of Oric data files and devices.
jdavis6809
Pilot Officer
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 10:39 am
Location: uk

Re tap2cd does not work

Post by jdavis6809 » Sat May 09, 2015 1:52 pm

Hello,

not sure what I may be doing wrong

but at the dos prompt I type

tape2cd invaders.tap invaders.wav (enter)

it asks for filename I type invaders

no wav file is created

regards

john davis uk

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2042
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Re tap2cd does not work

Post by Chema » Sat May 09, 2015 3:44 pm

Which version are you using? Where did you download it from? If it is an old version it may have problems running in Windows 7 or 8...

I used it many times and it works perfectly...

jdavis6809
Pilot Officer
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 10:39 am
Location: uk

Re: Re tap2cd does not work

Post by jdavis6809 » Sat May 09, 2015 6:10 pm

hello

version unknown

I use c:\tap2cd in win 7

I do know some file areas are protected but root c is ok

see attached
tap2cd.rar
(22.5 KiB) Downloaded 167 times
regards

john davis uk

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2042
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Re tap2cd does not work

Post by Chema » Sat May 09, 2015 8:32 pm

You could try http://forum.defence-force.org/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=901

Or http://sourceforge.net/projects/euphori ... e%20tools/

The first one is what I used to generate the fast loading wavs for Oricium and Skool Daze. Not sure if there is a slight difference in timings with the second one though. Let us know the results...

jdavis6809
Pilot Officer
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 10:39 am
Location: uk

Re: Re tap2cd does not work

Post by jdavis6809 » Sun May 10, 2015 3:08 pm

hello

tried 2 versions of tap2cd 1 30k and 1 50k

does not work on win 7 pc, does not generate wav file

does work on xp laptop

will not be able to test on atmos as I do not have one yet (I have an oric 1 v1.0)

regards

john davis uk

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2042
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Re tap2cd does not work

Post by Chema » Sun May 10, 2015 3:50 pm

Okay then. I am quite sure it worked in my win7 box, but I will try again as soon as I can.

By the way, why do you want to use tap2cd if you don't have an oric with a 1.1 rom?

And one further note: Oricutron can load those ultra fast wav files.

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2042
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Re tap2cd does not work

Post by Chema » Sun May 10, 2015 9:40 pm

Just tested on my Win 8 64bit laptop with the tap2cd version included in the OSDK (the first link I posted above) and it worked...

Code: Select all

>%OSDK%\bin\tap2cd
Usage: tap2cd [-c|-h] <.TAP file> <WAV file>
(-c check CRC, -h load HIRES screen first)

>%OSDK%\bin\tap2cd -c SkoolDaze10.tap SkoolDaze10.wav
CRC check activated
Stored name is Skool Daze 1.0, enter new name (or RETURN to keep):

>
And I have a 1.112 Kb wav file named SkoolDaze10.wav on the folder.

I suggest you let us know exactly how you are using the program, including filenames and the new name you enter...

jdavis6809
Pilot Officer
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 10:39 am
Location: uk

Re: Re tap2cd does not work

Post by jdavis6809 » Mon May 11, 2015 5:33 pm

hello,

I have tap2cd in root c

from run box I type cmd (enter)

navigate to c:\tap2cd

then I type tape2cd invaders.tap invaders.wav (enter)

comes back with

Stored name is ORIC INVADERS, enter new name (or RETURN to keep):

I type invaders (enter)

no wav file is generated

do the same as above on xp laptop its ok

yes I know I cannot use it yet, want to make sure it works ok ready for atmos or oric 1 with v1.1

then I will be able to test it with 8gb mp3 player recorder

I will get a atmos when one comes available at the right price and not silly money

regards

john davis

jdavis6809
Pilot Officer
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 10:39 am
Location: uk

Re: Re tap2cd does not work

Post by jdavis6809 » Mon May 11, 2015 6:07 pm

hello,

just found another version with 62k file size from oric sdk 1.4 bin folder (I would never have looked there, downloaded versions were 30k and 50k)

that version works on win 7

so there are 3 versions with file sizes 30k , 50k and 62k

regards

john davis uk

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2042
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Re tap2cd does not work

Post by Chema » Mon May 11, 2015 8:45 pm

Ah three versions :( that is a mess and partially my fault when I compiled it for my usage, then put it online for the OSDK and then Fabrice updating it too in his site.

Maybe we need to do something about it... Will check if Fabrice's code is the same as mine or not.

jdavis6809
Pilot Officer
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 10:39 am
Location: uk

Re: Re tap2cd does not work

Post by jdavis6809 » Tue May 12, 2015 12:52 pm

hello

also downloaded source from svn

is this up to date? and complies 62k file size code?

what version of complier used ie ms vs6

regards

john davis uk

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2042
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Re tap2cd does not work

Post by Chema » Tue May 12, 2015 1:20 pm

The thing is that we discovered some problems when I was trying to get it to work for Skool Daze so, with the help of Fabrice and Symoon, I prepared my own (new version). Well, to be honest Fabrice did it, and I just tweaked inside to make it load in most Orics we could test.

I am not sure why I thought Fabrice was no longer maintaining it so I decided to upload the sources to the SVN and the binary to the OSDK. The sources in the SVN are the ones I used to compile with Visual Studio 2010 (including the asm source, which is not needed to compile it as it has already been assembled into one of the header files). Therefore, yes. You should be able to compile it. Not sure about the exe size.

I really must compare it with the version in Fabrice's site (which also has source code, so you should be able to compile it too) and see what can be done, but I simply have no time now.

User avatar
ibisum
Squad Leader
Posts: 869
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 8:56 am

Re: Re tap2cd does not work

Post by ibisum » Tue May 12, 2015 6:30 pm

Grr.. this is a problem that source-version-control is intended to solve in the first place, .. grr .. ;)

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2042
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Re tap2cd does not work

Post by Chema » Wed May 27, 2015 9:25 am

I am trying to find out differences from Fabrice's tap2cd and the version in the OSDK (tweaked by me). Starting with the asm loader the first difference is I translated it so it could be assembled using XA (I even included a batch file for that), but I also had to tweak the timing so it loaded in my Oric more reliably:
Original:

Code: Select all

high_level
	lda shifter
	cpx #99
Mine:

Code: Select all

high_level
	lda shifter
	cpx #99-3
I also included the file loader_df.s which is the same but with the possibility to save the screen first (so it is shown during the load).

Finally I modified the tap2cd.c file so it handles this new loader as an option.

I think I will contact Fabrice, because the version people will want to use is his (no loader_df.s, as it is just for me) BUT I found my timing tweak to be more reliable (Oricium and Skool Daze both use my version).

As soon as this is cleared I will tell you. In the meantime you can tell the difference between versions because when printing the usage of the program (run tap2cd with no arguments) mine will tell "-c check CRC, -h load HIRES screen first" and Fabrice's will only tell about the -c option.

I would recommend you to use mine for the time being (the one in the OSDK) if you find problems loading back the program when converted with Fabrice's (the one in github). Just ignore the -h option (which is valid only if you save all the memory including the HIRES screen).

Cheers!

P.S. Does anyone know why the sources in GitHub are maintained by someone called norayr from Armenia?

User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 2361
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Re tap2cd does not work

Post by Dbug » Wed May 27, 2015 6:00 pm

What about having the OSDK version generate the assembler code directly from the 6502 assembler by calling XA/Bin2Txt as a pre-dependency on it?
That would make the maintenance much easier.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests